A Rant on Birth Control

So, though many of you probably don’t know, I am rather active on LiveJournal.  I am on there for only two reasons.  The first is because that’s where I post all my media reviews and rants.  You know, the stuff I don’t clog up this blog with.  I read a lot and I love movies and TV so all of that stuff stays on my LiveJournal.  I have no better use for it except for reason #2 why I am on there:  the Writer’s Block questions.

Writer’s Block is a question-of-the-day kind of thing LiveJournal came up with to get people thinking and talking about different subjects.  People submit questions to the Writer’s Block community and every day (either in you inbox or just posted on the webpage) you will get one or two questions a day to answer.  Some of these questions are held by sponsors (like Verizon or Yahoo) and have to do with their services or technology or whatever.  Many of them are user submitted and range anywhere between “your top 10 favorite albums” and “what snacks do you eat for specific situations” to fantasy-type imagination questions.  I’ve been asked about what foods I would serve to a visiting ambassador to represent my country, or about my dream car or what I would do if I had $10,000 to give to charity.

Occasionally you get politically or otherwise controversial questions.  I’ve been asked about smoker’s rights, the legal drinking age, and how I think Obama’s doing in office.  I only answer questions I have an answer for.  If I don’t have anything to say on the subject, I delete the question.  I do that more often than not.  But some days, something just begs to be answered by me.

Today’s question was:

Do you think parents have a right to know if their teenager is taking birth control pills? What are the potential consequences of requiring parental consent?

Oh ye gods this needed my opinion.

The answer is no.  Birth control is a very personal thing and requiring parental consent can lead to all sorts of problems.  While most parents would probably be reasonable and okay with it, there is still a good percent that would make their child’s life hell over the following (probably false) assumptions:

1) If you’re taking birth control, you must be having sex and are therefore a slut.

Many times a woman decides to go on birth control (especially at a young age rather than an adult) because of problems with their menstrual cycle.  You may be irregular, or have very bad abdominal cramps or PMS that cause you to not be able to function normally during this time.  But some parents are not concerned enough with what’s actually going on in their daughter’s life to know this about them, or they think that their child is faking the symptoms, and automatically assume that birth control = lots of unprotected sex.  Which could then deny a child something that could improve their life over a very false assumption.

2) Birth control goes against God.

There are quite a few religions where it’s pretty much considered a sin to take birth control.  Parents could deny their child medicine that could improve their quality of living over a belief that the child may not hold.  No person should be denied medicine on the account of someone else’s religious beliefs.

This actually brings me to a point that irked me a while back.  There was a new article done on pharmacists who denied women the Plan B pill because it went against their religion.  Listen and listen good.  Giving people the medicine they ask for is your job.  If your job conflicts with your religious beliefs, then quit, but your belief system does not give you the right to deny someone else something they are comfortable taking.  The job requirements do not ask you if you believe in the medicine you’re giving out, just that you do it.  That ever happened to me and shit would fly let me tell you.

Back on topic, the main reason why birth control should not require parental consent is because of the false beliefs and prejudices that the parents may have against the drug.  Denying what could potentially better a woman’s living conditions over false assumptions and unjustly punishing your child for something they might not be doing is not worth it.  That decision is personal, unless the woman decides to make it otherwise, and should stay personal.

~ by ladyruby07 on July 20, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
