Why I Get Mad When I See My Republican Friends on Facebook “Poor Bash”

If you guys wonder why I get pissed off when you pretty much bash the poor, it’s not because I’m liberal, it’s because I’M FUCKING POOR!

I work four days a week, full time hours. I go to school two of the other days, leaving me one day off maintaining my house.

IT IS NOT ENOUGH.

My gas bill is on the LICAPP program (one straight balance, regardless of use. Really good in the winter when the bill would otherwise shoot up straight past $200.) I’m applying for HEAP, which I qualified for last year and will qualify for this year. I qualify for SNAP and I’m seriously thinking of taking it as I could use help getting food for the house each week. I don’t qualify for welfare because I don’t have a dependent kid (you need one of those to be on welfare, by the way.) I barely have $20 for myself to last me through a week for emergencies.

I got my music player over a year ago. I bought it used, I paid for only half (my dad splurged and put in the other half for my birthday present. But wait, I’m poor. I don’t deserve new things for my birthday right?) I got a new computer almost a year ago. I got it because a) the 15 year old monster laptop I had had for 5 years died and b) I was going back to school and a computer is pretty much necessary for that now. My mom and dad split the cost for me. Dad saved up for three months to be able to even do that. I wouldn’t be going back to school this semester if my mom hadn’t been kind enough to pay the over a grand I owed that financial aid wouldn’t cover. I got a new phone for my birthday because mine was dying and restarting itself for some odd reason, but my mom bought it, not me.

My mom finally found a job that lets her have money like the rest of you seem to magically have. But she’s moved away. She’s in South Carolina. Not exactly easy for me to just beg money from her all the time.

I have a tattoo, but I got it four years ago. I have a piercing but I got that two years ago. It was a good two years for me between haircuts and the only reason I got one was because I visited my aunt and she cut it. The last time I got clothes was over a year ago and I didn’t get them at the mall. I didn’t even get them at KMart or Target. I got them at the thrift store. I own a pair of American Eagle jeans. I bought them used for $3. The pair of Old Navy Jeans I have? I got those back in high school. The last time I bought sneakers was a year ago, at Payless, and their Youth sized sneakers because those were cheaper. The last time I bought fancy shoes I got them at Amvets for $5 a piece. Most of the shoes I love that I show off? Not new. At least a couple years old. My work shoes are so fucked right now but I can’t afford to drop the $30 for new ones. By “so fucked” the soles are half off, peeling away at the base. My feet get wet in the rain. I have at least 2 bras falling apart. One of which I can no longer repair. To stay healthy, the recommend you replace your bras every two years. I haven’t had a new one for at least 4 years. My bras are $32 a piece. I’ve needed them for weeks. I can’t afford to get them.

I keep hoping that my wisdom tooth that’s falling apart will just stop hurting. That the tooth that needs the root canal will just stop being sensitive. Because I can’t afford to get them fixed. I can’t afford to get my wisdom teeth removed. They told me to get them out 3 years ago. My annual doctor’s visit for my pap smear and stuff costs me over $200. I need to go so I can continue taking my birth control. Which a) helps out with my period, the main reason I take the thing and b) is cheaper than condoms for the amount I have sex since I can’t use latex condoms, I’m allergic.

I live in a house with the front door unable to close and the inside one so warped I can barely lock it. There’s a giant hole in my ceiling. It’s freezing but I won’t turn on the heat til at least October, and November if I can manage it. My winter boots are two years old and were given to me by someone’s dead mother.

I AM POOR. You elitist right-wing jackasses talk about ME when you talk your shit. You talk about me and half the people I know and hang out with on a regular basis.

Being poor means that I know there is no such thing as a menial job. There are only menial attitudes. No job is beneath you. Any and every job is worth your time because you need money. School books aren’t just annoying, they require a book deferrmant and more red tape and hoops to jump through because you can’t just drop $100 on a book.

I AM POOR.

Remember this.

[There is a longer, more involved and better structured response coming.  This was what I immediately posted on Facebook.]

~ by ladyruby07 on October 2, 2012.

2 Responses to “Why I Get Mad When I See My Republican Friends on Facebook “Poor Bash””

  1. very well said. I will send you money for new shoes. I’ve got your work pants on order. Next month I will send you $ for your teeth. Mine are so bad now I’ve had 2 abcesses in 2 months & I already feel badly enough about not being a good provider for so many years trying to keep your Dad happy…so I want you to get them taken care of. Ok? Call me later if you have a chance. I miss you and I love you! Have a good day!

    Sent with Verizon Mobile Email

  2. Oh mom….

    Shoes and bras are big! Those I need first and foremost. If you wanna help me with health stuff, then $ for my annual physical coming up in a couple months would be more helpful (because a pap smear somehow has to cost $200!)

    There’s only one other “big” gift I want for any upcoming holidays but since I’ll actually get a tax return back this year (rather than owing the government $10….I should rant about that!) I might be able to get it myself for once!

Leave a Reply

 
